USMAI Library Consortium
Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Maryland Shared Open Access Repository (MD-SOAR) is a shared digital repository platform for multiple partnering colleges and universities in Maryland. It is hosted by the University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI) Library Consortium but is jointly funded and governed by all participating partners. MD-SOAR partners have agreed to share policies and practices that are necessary and appropriate for the shared platform. Within this broad framework, each library provides customized repository services and collections that meet local institutional needs.

MD-SOAR documentation and communication are managed in Basecamp: https://basecamp.com/1936123/projects/9015217


MD-SOAR Support

Contact mdsoar-help@umd.edu for technical support.

Governance

MD-SOAR Policies are set by the Joint Governance Group where each participating library gets one vote. Each participating library may appoint one or more representatives to serve on it, usually one primary contact, and one or more alternates. All Governance Group meetings are open to guests from any of the participating libraries. The roster of governance group representatives is shown below:

Frostburg State UniversityPrimary ContactLiza Zakharovaylzakharova@frostburg.edu301-687-4889

AlternateSean Henryshenry@frostburg.edu301-687-4888
Goucher CollegePrimary ContactKristen Welzenbach (co-chair)Kristen.Welzenbach@goucher.edu410-337-6370

AlternateMelissa Strawmelissa.straw@goucher.edu
Hood CollegePrimary ContactToby Petersonpeterson@hood.edu301-696-3924
Loyola/Notre Dame LibraryPrimary ContactBarbara Preecebpreece@loyola.edu410-617-6811

AlternateJennifer Kinniffjkinniff@loyola.edu410-617-6868
Maryland Institute College of ArtPrimary ContactJennifer Ferrettijferretti@mica.edu 410-225-7005 

AlternateHeather Slaniahslania@mica.edu410-225-2311
Morgan State UniversityPrimary ContactMarcus Laddmarcus.ladd@morgan.edu

 AlternateChris Iweha chris.iweha@morgan.edu 
Salisbury UniversityPrimary ContactJennifer Martinjmmartin@salisbury.edu 410-543-6135 

AlternateChris Woodallcmwoodall@salisbury.edu410-543-6306
Stevenson UniversityPrimary ContactSusan H. Bonsteelshbonsteel@stevenson.edu

AlternateElizabeth Fieldsefields2@stevenson.edu
University of BaltimorePrimary ContactCarolyn Cox (co-chair)ccox@ubalt.edu410.837.4259

AlternateKyle Brenemankbreneman@ubalt.edu410.837.5827
Towson UniversityPrimary ContactAdam Zukowskiazukowski@towson.edu410-704-5318

Alternate


St. Mary's College of MarylandPrimary ContactKat Rynerkhryner@smcm.edu240-895-4260

AlternateKent Randallkdrandell@smcm.edu
University of Maryland Baltimore CountyPrimary ContactMichelle Finchbaughflinchba@umbc.edu410-455-6754

AlternateCarolyn Sheffieldcsheffield@umbc.edu410-455-2964
USMAIPrimary ContactChuck Thomascthomas@usmd.edu301-445-2782

Policies

Structure: All communities and collections must include the name of the campus,or an abbreviation for it.

Content: May include digital objects or links to digital objects stored elsewhere. Materials must be created by current or former community members or administrative units of the participating university or college, or items closely related to the library collection where the library has permission to distribute electronically. All works should be completed, not works in progress, and academic or scholarly in nature. For more information read the full Content and Format Guidelines.

Copyright: Participating libraries must adhere to generally accepted library best practices regarding copyright and intellectual property rights. For more information read the repository's Withdrawal Policy.

Metadata: All metadata records must include a dc.relation.isAvailableAt field with the name of the university which owns the material. This can be achieved by administrators setting up a metadata template for each collection with this field and the appropriate value to be included in it. For help with this, contact Michelle Flinchbaugh (flinchba@umbc.edu). All metadata records must also include the dc.title and dc.type (with the values Collection, Dataset, Event, Image,Interactive Resource, Service, Software, Sound, or Text) fields. A dc.date field should be provided when available (with appropriate qualifiers when available). A dc.terms.modified field should be included when a resource was modified with the date on which it was changed. For more information, read the full Metadata Policy.