USMAI Library Consortium
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

CLD Votes to Support EAST Membership Through Central Budget

The Eastern Academic Scholars' Trust (EAST) announced in a Feb. 24, 2020 press release that 12 additional members of the USMAI Library Consortium had joined the EAST shared print program. Additionally, Loyola Notre Dame Library has been a member of the program since 2017. The 12 new members of EAST are listed below:

  • Bowie State University
  • Coppin State University
  • Frostburg State University
  • Morgan State University
  • Salisbury University
  • St. Mary’s College of Maryland
  • Towson University
  • University of Baltimore
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
  • University of Maryland, Eastern Shore
  • University of Maryland Global Campus

The decision to join EAST follows the recommendation of the SPMC (SPMC). The task group was formed in 2017 to oversee the inception of the USMAI Shared Print Collections Retention Initiative. 

Under EAST, all existing retention commitments will be maintained; additional circulating print monographs will be selected for retention based on uniqueness. The analysis for selecting the additional items is planned for early fall 2020.

The USMAI Shared Print Initiative is operating under its existing policies and workflows until the analysis for EAST is completed; after that time, we will move fully under EAST's governance, policies, and workflows.

The Council of Library Directors (CLD) voted to accept the recommendation of the SPMC Task Group and support the EAST membership through the central budget during the Dec. 19, 2019 CLD meeting

Related Documents

SPMC Report and Recommendation 

EAST Press Release (Feb. 24, 2020)

CLD Meeting Minutes (Dec. 19, 2019)